Flavio Marchesin

art
Musicianship and reincarnation

6 posts in this topic

Hello Michael,

I just watched a documentary about the artist named Amy Winehouse, who died in 2011. Although I was not too much into her music at the time she was alive, as a musician myself I'm always interested in all kinds of music and musicians.

So I found out that she was a real prodigy. Her singing style and musicianship were very mature for someone that age. Also, I'm seeing lots of musicians like her nowadays. An example would be 11 year-old jazz pianist Joey Alexander. I can understand a child playing a classical tune which all you need is (lots of) ability, but that's more mechanical, after all you're reproducing something. But jazz is a completely different thing, most people dedicate their entire life to develop their style and technique, and these two examples are from already developed musicians at a very young age. 

So my question is: was Amy Winehouse a reincarnation of some great jazz singer? I can see the connection not just because of her high developed musicianship and music taste (she said she was always more interested in great musicians from the past and didn't see anything valuable in today's radio music), but also because of her troubled life and drug relation (reminded me of a few great jazz singers from the past). As a musician myself, I'm very interested if I'm gonna forget everything I'm learning in this life on my next lives!

Another question is: during my life I was always involved in musical projects that were just a little tiny step of "getting to the next level", as they say. But on uncountable times a little small detail made everything go to the dumpster. Is there a karmic issue preventing me from achieving my artistic goals?

Thank you and sorry about my English, I'm not an English native speaker...

4 people like this