Jump to content

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 03/24/2019 in all areas

  1. 58 points
    BACKSTORY: As most of you already know, I live with a chronic immune system condition that is mostly known as A.I.D.S. I am “perfectly” healthy and in a state they describe as “undetectable,” meaning they can’t find any HIV in my blood at all. I live on a cocktail of medications that supposedly help keep me alive, and my own vegan diet helps tremendously in countering any serious issues. But I still struggle with ups and downs of health that are often vague and oppressive and include headaches/migraines, extreme fatigue, low-grade constant cold symptoms that sometimes explode into severe colds, and then sometimes I fall flat into some scary states that have yet to be diagnosed or understood and these knock me off my feet for days. This isn’t how I live my life every day, but these things often disrupt my life and my focus on work. Add to this the weight of depression that has slowly crept into my life since Trump got elected. It may seem silly, but it has truly affected the quality of life for many of my friends. I’ve never experienced depression before and finally had to accept that I endure it now. I think it’s pretty mild compared to clinical depression, so for those who suffer clinical depression, my heart goes out to you. It has exacerbated the health issues above. And I have to admit that my diagnosis of A.I.D.S. 12 years ago still haunts me and weighs on me every single day. It’s not something that is easy to live with psychologically. I am as healthy as anyone else, but it’s like a ticking time bomb that keeps you living in a state between life and death. This actually helps my relationship with Michael and improves the quality of the channeling, so there’s that! When I was dying of pneumonia in that hospital bed in The Netherlands in 2007, I actually got to “meet” Michael before I fell into my 5-day coma. It was surreal and disturbing and beautiful, and it was one of the most comforting moments I’ve ever experienced. I think it calmed me down and helped me trust in my existence and let my body do its work of recovery. I don’t know. But I survived. When I returned to NYC from The Netherlands, it would take me 5 years to breathe normal again and I was very lucky that New York State has health programs in place that help those with no insurance to get the healthcare and prescriptions necessary for survival. I have been gratefully living with that healthcare since 2007. So the good news is that I’m surviving and thriving! And on paper, I am healthy and have nothing to worry about. These random states of health do not define me or my life, but I also can’t ignore them, so I eat as best I can, and take my medications, and use the Michael Teachings to help me understand and create and evolve all through these ups and downs. But my healthcare is essential... which leads me to 2019. FAST-FORWARD TO 2019 As 2019 approached, I was alerted that I would no longer be eligible for my healthcare. I have been living with profound stress and uncertainty for all of 2019. I fought to keep my healthcare and lost. Eventually I was free-falling. I could no longer get check ups, bloodwork, and my supposed life-saving medications were running out. This was so stressful for me that my health and my optimism took a nosedive and I’ve been struggling off and on all year. It has affected my work for all of you, not in terms of quality of channeling, but in terms of my keeping up and staying on schedule. I honestly felt like I was having to get my private life in order and prepare to die. If not soon, then at least sooner than I expected. Suddenly the past 12 years felt like borrowed time and I had run out of it. To be perfectly honest, I was terrified. Truly scared for my life. It never matters how much you understand and work with the dead... dying is a big deal! But I kept it together and continued to research and ask for help from sources that could help me. I’m self-employed and do not make enough money to cover health insurance on my own, but I also make too much money to qualify for the Medicaid I had been with for all of these years. So my focus has been heavily directed toward saving my life and this distraction has disrupted a lot of my schedule and plans. I’ve been doing the best I can to juggle all of this... And it finally paid off! I GOT MY HEALTHCARE BACK! My advocate directed me to a program for which I qualify and I am in the process of restoring my healthcare! When my advocate told me this, I broke down in tears. I had been carrying the weight of this for so long, mostly privately and alone because it was too heavy to share. I just wanted to focus on solutions. And I finally found one. BACK TO WORK So if you have noticed or sensed my distance and distraction, now you know why. And I’m very happy to say that I can once again reclaim my energy and direct it back to thriving and not just surviving. Please be patient with me if you are in my backlog of sessions. It’s not a big backlog, so it won’t take too much time, but thank you for being patient. I can also return focus to Wholeness of Souls, TLEGG, our Michael Books, and other projects in the works! Thank you for all of your love and patience and understanding and kindness. I’m back. Troy PS - a special thank you and deep gratitude for TeamTLE for helping me keep it together. I could not have survived this without them. I love you all so much.
  2. 42 points
    ENERGY REPORT April 2019 2019 OVERLEAVES ROLE: Artisan (emphasized all year) CENTER: Moving (emphasized all year) GOAL: Flow → Acceptance/Discrimination (emphasized Jan - Mar) MODE: Observation → Passion/Reserve (emphasized Apr - Jun) ATTITUDE: Realist (emphasized Jul - Sep) CHIEF FEATURES: Self-Destruction (emphasized Oct - Dec) APRIL comes in from an Energy Shift at the end of March that brought with it a burst of enthusiasm, curiosity, and optimism, and while this was received well by some students, it does not appear to have landed well for many of our students. Instead, this was a disorienting and agitating energy shift that had many of our students unsettled and disconnected. We think this is because of the “seasonal” shift of emphasis to the Mode that has many students left with a mix of extreme agitation and disconnection. April moves into an emphasis on OBSERVATION MODE and this has many of our students entering Observation through Surveillance, or the Negative Pole of Observation as the month begins. The combination of a fall into Surveillance and a burst of energy that would normally inspire enthusiasm somehow mixed into a scenario that may have felt more like a relentless demand and taunting that required retreat and recoiling. Those in Surveillance were not quite ready to be so engrossed and involved, so they retreated to a distance that was both a sense of protection, but also a sense of defeat. As the burst of energy subsides, students may begin to feel they can come forward and be more involved again because it would feel as if it is on their terms, not prompted by a burst of collective energy. We thought there would be a brief dip into Surveillance at some point in April, but now it appears that most of April may carry with it this sense of Surveillance, or this surreal sense of being apart from life, rather than a part of life. It is a sense of watching a river flow past you and a sense of daunting overwhelm to think of being a part of that flow. This entrance into Observation through Surveillance is normal, but it is also intensified for many because there is a deep desire to NOT be a part of the flow that seems to be in effect in the world at the moment. Many older souls would prefer to sit this out until the water clears. Many older souls see the collective river flow as muddy and rocky and moving too rapidly, so they want no part of that flow. It feels like it is not their world anymore or their flow or their story. The older soul may retreat and recoil into Surveillance to savor a tiny sphere of life that can be controlled and can be their own story. This can briefly feel comforting, but older souls also know better. They know this is a false comfort. And because they know this, there is a bit of resentful dread that can come up for the inevitable moment they know will come when they return to take part in the world again. Some of you know this more clearly than others and you “rip the bandaid off” and go back into the flow of life. Some of you are more resentful and dreading and prefer to hold out as long as possible, keeping your distance from the mess of life and the mess of people and the mess of evolution. However quickly or slowly you move back into participation, our students will likely begin to see the value in the Positive Pole of Observation, CLARITY, by the end of April or beginning of May. This is when the older soul may begrudgingly return to the truth that while they may not always be part of the pain and mess, they are always a part of the healing and clarity that is necessary to bring. When older souls opt out of participation in the world, the river of life shifts away from being a force that forges new paths, and turns into a force that erodes and entrenches old paths. This is not to say that older souls are responsible for forging new paths for humanity, but they cannot forge them at all without being a part of the collective mix of pain and mess and healing and clarity. For many of our students, this move through Observation over April, May, and June will be another fairly intense self-examination about how to balance caring for the self and sharing of the self. DATES OF INTEREST (dates are approximate): April 1st - 5th -- Energy Shift -- PRESSURE - What could have been a passionate and enthusiastic sense of participation in the life has turned into what could be described as a PRESSURE to participate in the life and a deep resentment for that pressure, resulting in agitation, retreat, and disconnection. April 19th - 22nd -- NEXUS -- CONVERGENCE - A merging of parallels that are in the process of “cleaning up” patterns that have gone awry. This may translate into a need to, literally, clean your own home, address any outstanding issues in relationships, and generally sort through anything that could use some sorting. HELPFUL THOUGHTS OVER APRIL: YOU ARE NOT FORCED; YOU ARE THE FORCE - You are the force in your life that determines its direction. You are the force that contributes to the flow of collective forces that you witness from what seems to be a distance. What you see at a distance is a part of your force and not something to avoid, dismiss, or reject. To reject the collective force diminishes your own force and to withhold your force from the collective flow is to muddy the waters of that flow more than you may think. Remembering that you are not forced to participate, but that you are a force that chooses how to participate, can be helpful when you find yourself in retreat and defeat.
  3. 35 points
    This is the first energy report that I haven't resonated with in years. My week since the March energy shift has been the polar opposite of this report. I've been optimistic, enthusiastic, and happy. Like I mentioned in the March discussion, I sometimes have to be careful to have intentional rest when my energy starts to crash, but other than that, this week has been the best ever. People have been happy and energetic at all my networking meetings. I'm getting more comfortable talking about myself and have very little anxiety anymore. Work is falling into my lap left and right. I love meeting new people at my meetings and connecting them with others in my network. I feel this huge sense of connectedness and part of the flow of life. It is utterly incredible how much creative potential there is when you become a business owner instead of an employee. You make a million choices about how to do your work, what tools and processes you use, how you market yourself, who you want to work for, how you talk to clients, how big you want to get. It is completely daunting at first until you get used to it, and then it becomes completely liberating. You no longer have to comply with anyone else's standards and ideals (within limits of existing laws, of course, but even those can be changed). Wow!!! How is it possible to be doing the same line of work I was tired of a year ago and feel utterly alive and happy?
  4. 26 points
    SUPPORT FOR OUR FELLOW STUDENTS AS TEACHERS & CHANNELS! I love seeing a few students take the lead and practicing their channeling, their interpretations, extrapolations, and their own teachings. I love this. I encourage it and support it. There are now three options available as part of this community for those who are taking the lead and would like to practice channeling and/or presenting their interpretations of the teachings or share their own teachings. One way is through creating a CLUB that can be hosted and populated with all of your content in one place for those who want to learn from you and support you in your practice. I think this is the best option for any serious attempts to build a personal community around your personal work. Another option is to use the iCHANNEL Club that is already in place as a support group for those practicing their channeling of any source and any teaching or healing. But now there is also another option: the new STUDENTS AS TEACHERS Forums. These forums were created for the more casual student and those less interested in creating a support group or audience for their work, but just want to share their detailed insights. This is open to anyone and everyone who wants to offer their take on the teachings. There are sub-forums to reflect all of the basics of the teachings, and then a forum for everything else. If you are building your own version or flavor of the teachings, your own channeling of the teachings, your channeling of Michael or your Essence, or your own insights on the teachings as a fairly serious endeavor, I suggest using one of the first two options, but please use any one of the options above that best suits you. These designated areas for sharing personal contributions to the teachings will help keep our forums and archives clean and clear from confusion over whether a post is from Michael or me, or your Essence, or your channeling, or your interpretations, or your teachings, etc. This differentiation of sources is important for all of us as students. Without this differentiation, a few things have come up as a problem that we have not been able to adequately or efficiently address in private, regardless of numerous quiet and patient attempts from TeamTLE to address these issues. As part of the network of support and encouragement, we need to ask the community to be on board and supportive of some constructive solutions to the issues listed below. If you see any of the issues listed below, gently bring it up and suggest some reconsideration or ask for some clarity. This will be so helpful for everyone! Thank you. We all want to be supportive and encouraging of personal contributions, but we also want to be mindful of some concerns that are important for supporting the integrity of the teachings, each other as students and aspiring channels, and this community as a resource. If you create a Club or post an article to the new forum, please consider these concerns when posting: One) Near-Plagiarism - In such a generous community using a Teaching with base concepts and terminology that are shared across a multitude of channels and teachers, it is difficult to call out plagiarism, so I'm not even going to go there because that would be silly, but we have seen a lot of "near-plagiarism," or the copying and pasting of actual work I have done with Michael that is then claimed to be original to the person posting or entirely unclear that it is not their original work. I would really appreciate more clarity and specific identification of my work as source material. NOT because I want credit, but because it does not serve the community to not differentiate between your work and mine. This is how students learn what resonates with them and what doesn't. If we slip in a few personal lines of material into a paragraph that is sourced from someone else, that's not helpful. Trust your material to stand on its own. Two) Personal Interpretations passing as Michael's Teaching - Please be mindful of material that is passing as words from Michael or part of the Michael Teachings that are not from Michael or a part of the teaching. Personal interpretations and extrapolations are awesome, but they should be identified clearly as such. Three) Speculation on the Teachings Passing as the Authority on the Teachings - Personal speculation should not pass as authoritative or definitive statements on the teachings, but credited as personal speculation. Those speculations may be incredibly insightful and even help build on the teachings, but they need to be clearly identified as personal speculation, not as a definitive part of the teaching. Please take all of this as an invitation to be even freer in your personal contributions to the community while also honoring the integrity of the teachings and the students who are studying. BONUS REQUEST: If you have posted anything that meets any of the concerns above, or that would do better in the new forum, please copy a link to your posts and open a support ticket for TeamTLE to move the post to a more appropriate position in the new forum.
  5. 25 points
    Ok, you CANNOT write that without some elaboration! LOL
  6. 25 points
    What we are seeing around us is the chaotic buildup to 2020 with 2019 being the pivotal year withing a pivotal century. People who aren't sensitive to it, to Energy, are wondering "what's going on?". For the rest of us, who feel stuff, it's such a strong underlying tension, like a throb, it's very hard to disengage from. I think that's why there are so many "attacks" and endings of long term relationships, etc. We're ALL on edge, literally, on The Edge, on the precipice of change like we've never seen before. It's partly a waking up BUT it's also "just" an overload of pressure or tension that NEEDS to be released. If you listen, in a certain way, you can feel and hear the "buzz". I feel like my head, actually my whole body, is going to explode every single fucking day. I just got back to Pilates after 4 years away (after hip surgery in 2015) and it helps enormously to get the tension out of my body. I use it as a sort of a physical meditation (I turn off all distractions and just focus on giving wholly to myself) as I need to give a "nod to my bod" as it's the one who is bearing the brunt for all of me these days. I'm also needing to spend more and more time meditating to just feel "normal". So self care at this time is extremely important -- not only for each of us individually but also for each other. We won't get through this, well, or at all (notice how many suicides are being reported) if we don't take care of ourselves and each other. Remember we are all walking each other home -- so be kind. Be kind to yourself and kind to each other. Kindness matters more now than ever.
  7. 24 points
    COMING SOON! All Overleaves for the growing list of Presidential Candidates for 2020 United States Election. Ongoing updates will be noted. NOTE: All Overleaves in the original post are channeled from Michael through Troy Tolley. Any additional channeling or sets of Overleaves for cross-reference and comparison can be posted in this thread with credit to the channel. NOTE 2: If any of these names below already have a profile posted for them from me, please feel free to copy/paste that into this thread for easy reference when I update this post. DEMOCRAT Booker Buttigieg Castro Delaney Gabbard Gillibrand Harris Hickenlooper Inslee Klobuchar Messam O’Rourke Ryan Sanders Swalwell Warren Williamson Yang REPUBLICAN Trump Weld
  8. 24 points
    Same Diane lol I too feel very optimistic and enthusiastic about the future. There’s a sense of empowerment and presence I’ve never really felt before and now I just want to be a part of it all instead of recoiling and being apart of it all. I feel alive and quite happy for the first time in a long time.
  9. 24 points
    This is exactly what happened to me, and not so much with a sense of defeat but a need to protect myself for a bit. About 2 weeks ago (a day or so following the release of the Barr letter) I pulled away from TV news, Twitter, etc., and just focused on reminding myself that I am strong enough and that Essence has been through all of this before. I knew it was inevitable that I come back to the fight, but periodically a break is just necessary. Just last night I turned the news back on and I opened Twitter again earlier today. Is it coincidence that my reentry happened to occur at the end of the energy shift?
  10. 23 points
    As I lie here riding out being sick and reading through strained and swollen eyes , I stumbled across a great article... A couple of times over the past few years and even as recently as a month ago, we have witnessed what is called "Bad Faith" arguments. These "arguments" are distraction tactics that seek to diminish valid positions in science, politics, life, and even communities like this. Some Bad Faith Arguments that have been showcased on TLE and if you were lucky enough to be a part of these, you will recognize several of the tactics below. The article focuses on politics and science, but these Bad Faith arguments come up in many online "debates" and arguments. One of the reasons I shut down a couple of these "discussions" was because they were drowning in Bad Faith. Recognizing that you are being dragged into a Bad Faith Argument can help you to back out and back away. And if you recognize that you may have unintentionally been using some of these Bad Faith tactics, maybe step back and reconsider listening more. *** ORIGINAL ARTICLE LINK A Field Guide to Bad Faith Arguments Once you recognize these weak tactics, you can easily outwit them by Aaron Huertas Bad faith arguments are common in politics. And while they’ve always been part of political culture, they’re much more rampant on social media. It’s easy to fall prey to bad faith arguments and waste time engaging someone on points that obscure rather than shed light on how we’re all affected by policy and politics. So with that in mind, here’s a field guide for spotting and responding to bad faith arguments and staying focused on the real-world issues that matter. WHAT'S A BAD FAITH ARGUMENT? The hallmark of a bad-faith argument is that it disguises the core point of a debate rather than addressing issues, beliefs, and values head-on. Bad faith arguments aren’t “real” positions; they’re proxy positions people take for rhetorical purposes. In some cases, a bad faith position can be intentional. For instance, Sen. Mitch McConnell made up a “Biden rule” to justify stealing a Supreme Court seat. Instead of arguing about the merits of refusing to hold a vote on President Barack Obama’s justice nominee Merrick Garland, McConnell made a proxy argument about Democrats being hypocrites for complaining about his power grab. And indeed, many Republicans and independents came to believe that the “Biden rule” was real and that McConnell was simply playing hardball politics just like the Democrats. But most bad faith arguments aren’t from wily, professional politicians like McConnell. They simply come from a place of not wanting to confront the actual arguments someone else is making. For instance, climate policy advocates point to scientific evidence that burning fossil fuels and increasing the amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere is causing seas to rise, more wildfires, and disruptions to rainfall patterns on which we rely. They argue these risks are severe enough to warrant dramatically reducing fossil fuel use and switching to clean energy. But anti-climate-action groups will often say the science is not certain enough to justify action. Climate advocates will respond by citing more and more scientific evidence demonstrating climate risks. But there’s a problem: The advocates are responding to a bad faith argument because anti-climate action groups never say what level of scientific certainty would be necessary to justify climate policy. Indeed, if you ask them to name the level of certainty they need or the type of evidence that would win them over, they’ll never do it. Although their argument is premised on the idea that more science could justify climate action, they can’t actually define a world where that’s true. Instead, they tend to oppose climate policy for ideological reasons—including an ideological commitment to exploiting fossil fuels—but they choose to fight policy in bad faith on scientific grounds. Similarly, many anti-climate action groups have evolved from outright climate denial to acknowledging that climate change is real and a problem but say they’re against “climate alarmism” and don’t believe in “catastrophic global warming.” But what do these terms mean? Again, they never say. If I think business as usual means the Earth is going to warm 4 degrees Fahrenheit by the end of the century, am I an alarmist? How about 10 degrees? Don’t waste time responding to these arguments on their own merits — they have none. Their actual operating definition is that “catastrophic global warming” is the precise amount needed to justify policy action, and, by definition, we will always fall short of it. An alarmist, meanwhile, is anyone who says we need to act on climate change. There’s an important distinction between types of bad faith arguments worth making here: Not all anti-climate action advocates are making these arguments intentionally. They’re not consciously thinking, “I’m going to pretend to say one thing but really mean another.” Indeed, many sincerely believe that climate alarmism is terrible and must be combatted even though they have not bothered to form a coherent definition of what the term means. In this case, these bad faith arguments are often best described as a form of “agnotology,” a term historian Robert Proctor has popularized to describe the cultivation of ignorance. Proctor studied how tobacco companies spread doubt about the link between smoking and cancer. Rather than directly criticizing the science, they spread messages about uncertainty and doubt to cloud policymakers’ judgment. They say maybe something else was causing the cancer… or maybe the scientific links were there but weren’t, uh, direct enough… or maybe people who are more likely to get cancer are actually more likely to smoke. Agnotology—and the popularization of political ignorance—cuts across a variety of issues, not just scientific ones. Indeed, I’ve come to see it as the most common form of bad faith argument in political debates. For instance, why are NFL players taking a knee? To protest police violence. They’ve been absolutely clear about this for years. But Fox News tells its millions of viewers that no one knows why they’re protesting. With that in mind, here are some other types of bad faith arguments we run into every day online and in public policy debates. Don’t waste time responding to these arguments on their own merits — they have none. They exist to distract from core policy issues and the actual effect they have on our lives, our rights, and our planet. THE CARTOON STRAWMANNER The cartoon strawmanner has no need to ask you what you believe; he already knows. How does he know? Because he already has a number of counterarguments to your position. Not your actual position, of course, but the one that his favorite propaganda outlets have told him you have. For instance, many scholars have pointed out that YouTube’s recommendation algorithm, which is optimized to push people to more and more intensive information about consumer products, has the unintended effect of pushing a minority of conservative viewers further and further down the rabbit hole to white nationalism. This is a problem because it seems to be playing a key role in helping a small but committed number of young white men to become violent reactionaries. But conservative YouTubers and their defenders will often make two arguments in response to this: Not everyone who watches these videos becomes a Nazi. (No one is claiming that they are.) You can’t just call everyone a Nazi. (No one is doing this.) These bad-faith arguments mean to distract from the core point, which is that bad actors are abusing YouTube’s platform to promote racist ideologies and encourage political violence. We can have a debate about how these new platforms and the people who use them respond. Are companies like YouTube more like utilities or television stations in what they owe to their audiences? If there’s no such thing as a politically neutral algorithm, how should companies consider the political consequences of altering recommendation algorithms? What, if any, role should the government play in regulating social media platforms? Do conservatives whose videos get remixed by people even further to their right have a responsibility to take them down? Is debating a fascist ever useful, or does it merely mainstream their ideas? But bad faith responses avoid these points entirely by cartoon strawmanning the people bringing them up instead. The best way to respond to these strawman arguments is simply to inform someone that no one is making that argument and point them to a book or long report to read (they will never read it). Eventually, the cartoon strawmanner evolves, like a shitty, annoying Pokémon, to become the lie detector. THE LIE DETECTOR The lie detector knows what you really mean. After all, they already know what your position is. But when you say your actual beliefs are something else entirely, they have a choice — except that they have not accounted for the full spectrum of human belief about a topic or accuse you of lying. The lie detector knows The Truth. Do not challenge the lie detector on any of these points: They know more about your beliefs, your life, and your work history than you ever will. You should ask the lie detector what you’re having for dinner this evening. THE FREEZE PEACH ADVOCATE The “freeze peach” advocate is a fake free speech advocate. They confuse disagreement with silencing, delegitimization, and censorship. While they believe in “free speech,” it turns out what that really means in practice is promoting their speech and the speech of people they agree with. Jordan Peterson, who came to fame for picking an imaginary free speech fight over transgender pronouns in Canada, for instance, recently sued two professors for criticizing him and his views and even sued another university to boot. Additionally, climate deniers might say they’re shut out of the debate because scientists won’t sit around discussing their ideas with them for hours and hours. But flat-Earthers are shut out of debates with geologists, too. The truth is that you don’t have to meet someone in an online or IRL structured debate to grapple with their arguments. Indeed, scientists have cataloged and numbered bad climate denial arguments for easy reference. Further, free speech and platforming arguments are often used as proxies for actual arguments. “These cowards won’t debate me!” is an easier sell than “Let me tell you about why I think 200 years of science is wrong even though I can’t get my ideas published in a scientific journal.” Freeze peach advocates think that they and their peers deserve a platform, but they never recognize that platform space is actually limited and contested. In fighting for airtime or seats at congressional hearings, they shut out other voices just as their voices can get shut out, too. The truth is that no one is entitled to a stage, a TV spot, or a book deal. Or as Alex Pareene hilariously said in response to the New York Times covering another stop on the freeze peach college campus moral panic tour: “If You Truly Care About Speech, You Will Invite Me to Your Office to Personally Call You a Dipshit.” Even when supposed free speech and civil debate advocates go on to run their own platforms, they rarely talk to people to their left. Instead, free speech and fears of suppression are used as marketing tactics, not core moral values. That’s why you never hear them advocate for lefty protestors who are unjustly jailed, students who face expulsion penalties for their free speech, or government scientists who face routine censorship of their research. PICTURED: 200 activists and several journalists were unfairly arrested as part of protests against Trump’s inauguration in 2017. A judge finally dropped charges in July of 2018. Not pictured: free speech defenders defending them. (As an aside, there are plenty of civil libertarian groups that do a ton of great work on actual free speech and academic freedom issues. When fake free speech advocates don’t show up to these fights, they show that they’re in it for their speech, not anyone else’s.) The freeze peach advocate should be reminded that no one is entitled to a platform and no one is actually preventing them from speaking. More importantly, their attention should be refocused to the actual policy debates at hand. THE PURITY TESTER The purity tester would like you to know that Al Gore uses airplanes (so troubling for an environmentalist!) and that Alexandria Ocasio Cortez wore a nice outfit for a photo shoot once (what kind of socialism is that?!). The purity tester isn’t here to tell you a policy agenda is wrong; they’re here to tell you those are bad spokespeople for their cause. If Gore swore off flying, would the Koch brothers suddenly come to Jesus on climate policy? Nope. And if Ocasio Cortez pledged to only wear thrift store chic on the House floor, would people like Charlie Kirk finally accept the need for universal health care? No way. These are goofy bad faith arguments that attempt to take the focus off policy and put it on advocates instead. They’re a form of concern-trolling that should be dismissed out of hand, although asking the purity tester to name an advocate whose arguments they’d be willing to listen to can be amusing. It’s rare that they’ve ever considered the idea of a good advocate before, which demonstrates that it’s just agnotology at work. THE LOGIC NERD The logic nerd has a very clear argument. The argument has multiple parts, each of which is impeccable and internally consistent. The logic nerd has his facts straight, too, and has a number of counterarguments ready to deploy should you try to poke holes. In fact, the logic nerd has three rhetorical questions ready to go to expose your fallacious reasoning and will ask them, in turn, regardless of what you say or do. I have some love for the logic nerd. If I had less empathy and less of a sense of just how much damage shitty public policy does to people, I too could have grown up to be a logic nerd, dear reader. But I came to realize that politics isn’t a dispute over which facts are true or whether your logic is valid. It’s a dispute over which facts are the most relevant to a debate and what logic we should follow when setting and enforcing laws. For instance, a logic nerd would love to debate you about the pay gap: Are women really paid less than men? If so, by how much, and in which industries? But what about this industry where some women are paid more? Should we not examine the data? Okay, look at my data! Do you deny my data, sir? It is the best and only data! Sir, by your own logic… What the logic nerd fails to realize is that equal pay laws give people the right to sue individual companies and institutions for pay discrimination. You can make all the societal-level arguments about the pay gap you want, but the actual law (and lawsuits) exist alongside that discussion, which is much closer to the reality that people live with every day when fighting discrimination. Responding to the logic nerd is a joy because if you fail to play along with their game, they will ad hominem the shit out of you. Failure to answer rhetorical questions, even by pointing out why the questions are not relevant, will result in persistent sea-lioning. There’s only one way to truly defeat the logic nerd. You must introduce him to the Fallacy Man. (Read the whole thing, please.) THE TONE POLICE AND PERSUASION PUNDITS When people have truly bad positions to defend, they often attempt to make a meta-argument about tone and persuasive power instead. This is endemic in Washington. For instance, a Daily Caller editor went to a progressive rally and was shocked — shocked — to find that people there were angry about politics. Well, yeah, a lot of people who show up to political events are upset about something and want to change and fix it. But instead of responding to what they were upset about (sinking wages and crappy health care), the editor focused on their tone. Not surprisingly, the same publication would never be shocked at right-wing anger, such as Tea Party rallies condemning Obama. That’s because their anger is always justified, but yours never is. Similarly, conservatives will routinely criticize NFL players for how they’re protesting police brutality by kneeling during the national anthem. But they’ll never suggest an alternative means of protesting. No tone is the only tone they want to hear. Meanwhile, many #NeverTrump conservatives are often trapped in persuasion punditry when they argue with liberals. “Medicare for all? Don’t you know Midwesterners are skeptical of big government? That’s not gonna play well in Trump country,” they say. Well, that’s certainly an easier argument to make than saying millions of people should suffer from a lack of health care and that you’re fundamentally okay with that. But in removing themselves one layer from actual policy, pundits can appear savvy without actually committing themselves to a real position, even as they justify the status quo. Bret Stephens, a conservative New York Times writer, wrote a column about how climate advocates should be more persuasive to him and other conservatives by not being so strident and certain about climate change being bad. But when another writer asked him which climate policies he might ever support, he couldn’t say. When people are really making an argument about persuading someone, they actually try to persuade them. If not, it’s just more bad faith. The solution to tone policing and bad punditry is just focusing on the issues. If someone wants to keep distracting from that with what’s fundamentally a political tactics discussion, ask them to help get your preferred policy passed. If they say no, congrats: You’ve found their real position. THE "BOTH-SIDERIST" The both siderist is very reasonable. So reasonable, in fact, that people who care about politics actually look very unreasonable by comparison: Did you hear about the bad thing Republicans did? Well, Democrats did a bad thing too once, and it’s all quite unfortunate that everyone can’t be as reasonable as me. Has "the both siderist" ever taken any actions to try to improve the political system? Well, it’s funny that you ask; no, they haven’t. What they have done is ask everyone, very nicely, to be civil and take it easy and not get too political with all that politics. But in insisting on being the most reasonable person in the room, the both siderist has failed to read the room. Their postured reasonableness obscures the political realities we’re dealing with: rampant Republican gerrymandering, voter suppression, human rights abuses, and anti-democratic power grabs from people like McConnell and Trump. Nearly all the Republican moderates have been voted out of office. Redefining “moderate” doesn’t make them more moderate, it just drags the debate to the right. The both siderist has a lot of political opinions, but their most important opinion is that both sides are bad — even if one side is doing objectively terrible shit to millions of people. It’s because the both siderist desperately wants to be off the hook for having to actually do anything to improve our political system. As the Republican Party has gone off the rails in the Obama era, this has led to a deeper and deeper stretch of both siderism logic. For instance, Amy Chua, writing in The Atlantic about the decline of democracy, equates Trump threatening to revoke people’s citizenship and strip them of their voting rights with college students asking a university to stop venerating a slave-owning Founding Father. But one of these fundamentally alters the realities of American political life for decades; the other is a campus debate over a statue. The committed both siderist must never admit that one party or one side in a debate is worse than the other. If they did, they might have to do something about it. DEBATING IN GOOD FAITH It’s worth remembering that the people who respond to you online are usually less than 1 percent of 1 percent, and the reason they’re writing is that they virulently disagree. In the broader public sphere, it would be good to see fact-checkers, pundits, magazine editors, and TV hosts actually try to pin people down on real positions. As Matt Bruenig has noted, political debates often function in two different universes. There’s a “take universe” with columns, opinion pieces, and think tank reports. Some of them are hot takes. Others are lukewarm, and if you dig into them, they’re just the same circle of people citing themselves as the source of The Truth on a given topic. Then there’s the real universe of actual data, actual outcomes for people and actual structures of power in society. In Bruenig’s case, he introduces hard data about public ownership of industries and worker control over businesses into fuzzy ideologically rigid “take universe” debates about capital, labor, and socialism. I’ve loved working with scientists because reality is real and scientists are responsive to it. The political class should be too. We’re drifting further from that precisely because conservative authoritarians attack sources of information that help us see reality: an independent press, science and academia, and public employees who work for all of us. They cultivate ignorance as surely as the tobacco companies did. It’s the only way they can hold onto power. They exploit the proliferation of online media to make the world too hard to understand. They make agnotology a certainty to obscure obvious realities like the fact that countries with universal health care have better health outcomes and the obvious ethical argument that no one has to die from lack of medical care in the richest country on Earth. Some of the best writing on arguments deals with the overwhelming amount of bullshit and uninformative information available in the modern media system. Neil Postman, the author of Amusing Ourselves to Death, argued in his later books that we must become “loving resistance fighters” who focus on our lived reality and core humanist values rather than media representations that can never truly stand in for our world. Even though I work in communications and media, I’ve tried to live up to that. I go to organizing meetings. I canvass and knock on doors. I show up for protests and direct actions. I’m a member of two unions. This stuff matters; real people matter. The real consequences of policy are life and death for millions of us. So we should focus on that relentlessly and never get distracted by bullshit, bad faith arguments.
  11. 23 points
    Diane, when you’re happy, I’m happy!
  12. 22 points
    I'm sorry to hear you had to go through this struggle this year. I can't imagine how stressful living without health care is, especially with a chronic illness. So I'm super happy to hear that you got it back now and have at least the psychological weight of that off of your shoulders. Living with the weight of having an illness that is considered terminal is hard enough, you shouldn't have to worry about being able to treat whatever pops up along the way on top of that. I hope this also will help you to get a grip of your depression and slowely move out of that crippling state. I'm so happy this Nexus paid off big time for you! Sending you a big, fat hug, @Troy! Love you heaps!
  13. 22 points
    "MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU." Thank you, Troy. Always appreciate you and our Monthly Energy Reports!
  14. 20 points
    Hey, for those of you who are having a great burst of positive energy and didn’t relate to the report, I think I read the report differently than you. It seemed that the report was describing this big burst of optimism, enthusiasm, energy, etc toward the end of March that would carry over into April and then went on to focus on where that went awry for a lot of us. They didn’t elaborate on the fun burst of energy because that is pretty self-explanatory, but focused on understanding what a lot of us experienced as a derailing of that enthusiasm. I apologize for the focus on what went awry because I think my own struggle with depression was coming through. I’m going through a bit of a rough time right now and my approach to this report was probably like, “what the fuck is going on!?” Instead of my usual neutral, “ok, what’s the report this month?” So if you didn’t relate to the report, it’s probably because your part of the report was basically, “hey, enjoy this great burst of enthusiam we already told you about!” And then Michael was like, “but for the rest of you... here’s what’s up.”
  15. 20 points
    Transitioning from going to school and being a kid to navigating the working world can be daunting and horrifying. You aren't the only one. I think our current school systems fail in this respect because they're hierarchical and regimented and don't prepare us for the massively more chaotic world of work. You go from having very few choices to having a huge number of choices to make and situations to navigate. The more aware you are, and the older soul you are, the more daunting it can be because you're aware of all the things that are wrong with this world and all the things that can go "wrong." What you describe is also classic Stubbornness as a primary CF, which I know well. The bottom line is that you fear the unknown, so any change is scarier than staying in place. You are also Scholar-cast, so Stubbornness may show up frequently regardless of your actual CFs. I don't know what to tell you about the fear of being stuck in a job, because I had that fear every time I was between jobs, and I did feel stuck for a while when I was ready to leave a job and was afraid of starting over. I think that's all part of the nature Stubbornness as well as Flow, because Flow means you will always notice how much effort it takes to change a path you're already on and how much easier it is to stay where you are. Yes, you may have to take another minimum wage job unless you make the effort to find or create something better. Yes, you will be judged -- there is no way around that. But you also get to judge the employer and decide whether you want to work for them. Yes, it will be uncomfortable to start a new job, get to know new people, and learn new things. It can also be exciting and exhilarating and bring you experiences you hadn't expected. Yes, you will probably eventually leave that job because something better comes along. Yes, you won't have as much time as you're used to having --- unless you create your own job/become self-employed so you can decide how much you want to work and live a lifestyle accordingly. Or you create a job from your hobbies and combine the two so you don't need quite so much free time for other projects. Yes, your coworkers may not like you at first -- but generally people start to like each other once they spend more time in proximity. I used to think that I had to have immediate resonance with people for them to become "my people", but this is not true and is part of Stubbornness. People will grow to like one another over time, unless they actively rub each other the wrong way. How you do your best to find compatible coworkers is actually at your interviews. Pay attention to how comfortable or uncomfortable you feel with the employees, the atmosphere, the interviewer, and how all of these things are different from company to company. Think about whether you wouldn't mind seeing these people everyday. Your interviewer would be doing the same with you. You will also get to live on your own terms rather than with people who tell you what to do. You will have more choices and more security that comes with greater access to money. If you learn money management and live a simple lifestyle, you definitely don't need to feel like there's never enough money. To avoid taking a job that you will hate and in a workplace you will hate, you need to participate and navigate. And if you do end up in something you hate, you can always change jobs again. Yes, the Physical Plane is SO. MUCH. WORK. Our world is so complex now and requires so much effort to navigate. Take your time and go at your own pace. Your fears are telling you the truth, but those truths can be used for navigation rather than stop you from growing at all.
  16. 19 points
    This is really powerful and meaningful to know. Thank you for sharing that. And please, never ever take our input and help with refining your posts or interpretations or formatting, or whatever... as anything more than exactly what it is. I want to encourage everyone and anyone to be as enthusiastic and as studious as you can be, so those suggestions and directions are only meant to help both you and the community. It's all love. Glad you survived those rough patches, Kurtis. You are very loved around here.
  17. 18 points
    @Cong I was wondering the same re: Notre Dame. It's a shame that such a beautiful work of architecture has been so badly damaged, but I have to admit I don't have the attachment to it others do. I was never able to visit it, but I've heard it was gorgeous. It does seem like powerful symbolism, though, especially with the timing; fire is spiritually cleansing, isn't it? Though Notre Dame is beautiful, it's also linked intrinsically with Young Soul religious and patriarchal values. When I saw the picture of the fire this morning, I suddenly had a vision of a future day, where a newly-rebuilt Notre Dame is unveiled: it looked like just as beautiful, but updated -- its stained glass windows were all solar panels, and some lovely roof farms on top made it look lush and green. I got the sense that it helped provide clean energy and fresh produce to the city. The image came so immediately and lasted in my mind so long that I wonder if I might have accidentally tapped into a future probability. Or perhaps a parallel we're merging with has already begun updating Notre Dame to be this optimistic, earth-friendly vision of community, and the devastating fire today is a shortcut to getting us on the same page? Or maybe none of the above, and my imagination just runs wild sometimes. Who knows.
  18. 17 points
    I'm happy for you! Having gone through a severely depressing and debilitating 2018, I can now better understand and empathize with those undergoing health complications. I pretty much hate most of our economic and social norms, so I'm glad that there are at least some people and groups that make an effort to help the disenfranchised. Btw, as I've said before, I'm extremely thankful for this site you and Michael have created. The info here has saved me from spiraling into self-destruction numerous times. While reading this it dawned on me that perhaps you have a Solar Health body type? Your profile says you only have Venus and Mercury but I'd be inclined to consider Solar Health too: From a library article: "MEntity: Your Tertiary Body Type is Solar, and this is directly linked to your Thymus as a medium of processing the status of your entire Being, in general. The Thymus is directly linked to immunity, and by extension to your overall state of self-esteem. This planetary influence in the tertiary realm usually shows up as someone who "never gets sick," but does tend to carry chronic issues for some length of time, or when they get sick, they "really get sick." More than other body types, this influence is an almost "real-time" reflection of where one is in terms of self-esteem, trust, and confidence in various areas of the life." From another library article: "MEntity: When Solar is involved there tends to be quite an extreme boost of longevity and strength of health, but this is often met with more extreme dips into health concerns, if there are any. For any concerns regarding health, then, one of the first considerations would be the immune system. Anything that boosters the immune system will be of benefit, of course, but in particular for those with Solar who have come to depend on fairly stable health for so long. And when those with Solar show any symptoms, the quicker to address those symptoms the better."
  19. 17 points
    Oh yes, and some of them started with Mueller. The entire Michael Cohen affair, for example, was referred by Mueller to SDNY, who executed the famous April Raid (which took place on the anniversary of Robert E. Lee's surrender at Appomattox, funnily enough). Mueller's investigation had a comparatively narrow scope. He was mandated specifically to investigate possible collusion with Russia to interfere with the 2016 Election, as well as the possibility of obstruction of justice pertaining to the firing of James Comey, which is notoriously difficult to prove "beyond all reasonable doubt". Mueller made a habit of referring his findings to federal prosecutors in SDNY when he found something outside his purview. I've never really expected Trump to get in trouble for anything Russia related, but I do see him going down in flames for a lifetime of financial crimes. Mueller was not appointed to investigate the President's financial history, but SDNY has no such restrictions, nor does New York's State Attorney General, who has already subpoenaed many of the President's financial records from Deutsche Bank. The investigation by the New York Attorney General's office is just as juicy - the New York AG is the reason why the Trump Organization is closing, and any charges they bring cannot be pardoned away by Trump or Pence. In the State of the Planet event back in January, Michael described a 78% probability in favor of the Trump inner circle facing indictment, but they did NOT say Mueller would bring the charges, nor did they say the charges would be federal-level charges, nor did they say those indictments would occur before 2020.
  20. 16 points
    I recently came across a chapter from Seth and Jane Roberts in the book "The Nature of Personal Reality" that delves into the relationship between collective human emotions and weather events. I know there is interest in the topic of weather here so I thought I would mention this. Excerpts from the chapter: Chapter 18: "Inner Storms and Outer Storms. Creative 'Destruction.' The Length of the Day and the Natural Reach of a Biologically Based Consciousness" "You do not simply react to the weather. You help form it, even as you breathe the air and then send it outward again. The brain is a nest of electromagnetic relationships that you do not understand. In certain terms it is a controlled storm." "A rock in a stream will divide the water so that it must flow around the impediment. Your emotions are quite as real as rocks. Your collective feelings affect the flow of energy and their force -- in terms of natural phenomena -- can be seen quite clearly in a thunderstorm, which is the exteriorized local materialization of the inner emotional state of the people experiencing the storm." If you have not had a chance to read this book, I would suggest reading it. I was reading through it slowly and I found that nearly every time I started to read a new chapter, the material of the chapter applied to my life events, recent thoughts or recent interests in some way.
  21. 16 points
    I think I did write about this at one time... somewhere. Maybe not. If not, I should write up a blog post about it. For years I felt it was way too personal and too outrageously surreal to mean anything to anyone else, but time has passed and now I feel it can be shared more. It's probably about as interesting as a dream, but I will share it sometime.
  22. 16 points
    Well, I've addressed the Sorting/Cleaning Nexus a little early. My current bedroom is clean and sorted for the first time ever. Marie Kondo has a wonderful way of folding shirts that saves space, which has turned my sprawled mountain of clothing into a neat well-organized stack. When I moved into the apartment where I now live, back in June 2018, I dropped all of my stuff onto the floor, infused myself with a strong dose of cannabis, and now in April I have finally unpacked and cleaned up. I will have friends sleeping over tonight for upcoming birthday and Game of Thrones celebrations, which is why my bedroom needed to become inhabitable again. I haven't had friends over in a very long time, and the timing with the nexus is juicy. To celebrate, I am now in the process of mulling some wine. Anyone who feels their life needs a change should start by cleaning their bedroom.
  23. 16 points
    This report explained a lot for me. I had a need to retreat and recoil this whole first week of the month. I usually gladly exercise 2-3 times a week + yoga now and then, but this week I didn't even do any yoga at home, and I am and was totally fine with it. The whole week felt really disorienting and I had a strong sense of being apart from life, and it was different from when I'm dealing with feelings of isolation (an on and off theme). I just needed time off from everything. I also felt quite ill since Wednesday with all kinds of symptoms, and while laying in bed I was wondering about which homeopathic remedy could possibly work for me and the state of all my bodies... Then shortly after that an image of spring green moss passed my mind, and this was quite intriguing! I got up and had to find out which remedy that could be... Strangely enough I didn't even remember at the point which remedy is could be, and after checking ... ah I already knew it, but I had totally forgotten which one it was! So yesterday I gave myself some homeopathic treatment and I was excited to see how it would go with this. Today I felt well again and much stronger so I went out and away for the whole day. Done with the recoiling! Then when I came home in the evening I found this validating report to read Thank you so much @Troy and Michael. And thank you @DianeHB for your enthusiastic and happy reminder about the empowering and creative potential in becoming a business owner instead of an employee, and how fun and liberating it also is.
  24. 16 points
    oy. oy. oy. oy. oy. oy. It never ends. it never fucking ends. the good news and the bad. Thanks, Troy.
  25. 16 points
    I agree with @Maureen on self care being of high importance. Something recently told me it might be a good idea to tune out from the world for awhile and tune in deep with myself - take a hard reset. I've been staying away from the news/noise and doing some major spring cleaning within and without. Currently on day two of a water fast. I forgot just how absolutely shitty it feels, but God if I'm not crammed to the brim with energetic garbage. Gotta clean that out, too. Oh yeah. And lots of yoga. I'll float away from my body if I don't. Cheers to everyone for staying grounded amid the chaos.
  26. 16 points
    Couldn't agree more. Much love to everyone who is feeling the turbulence under the turbulence.
  27. 15 points
    Oh my god! I knew you had some health issues but I didn't realize it was to this extent. I salute you for not losing your absolute shit as you were going through this all year. I'm so glad that relief is on the horizon and you're doing better. You're so loved, Troy!
  28. 15 points
    (((Troy))) I'm so sorry you went through those feelings of uncertainty alone, but very glad you have your healthcare back and don't have to carry that burden anymore. Thriving is much more exciting than surviving. Love you very much! PS: I'm also super curious to know more about when you "met" Michael!
  29. 15 points
    Well, nearly dying of pneumonia must have been traumatic, and I understand if you don't want to revisit that. BUT. This teasing cliffhanger is just so CRUEL to those of us who love cliffhangers. I would love to hear more about what this meeting was like. EDIT: just saw that Bobby posted almost the exact same thing. Lol. Team work.
  30. 15 points
    Troy, I am so glad your advocate was able to help you restore your healthcare! Sending you a big hug.
  31. 15 points
    @Troy Such great news! Big hugs and lots of love.
  32. 15 points
    Please be aware that the support ticket system on this site has many functions intended for use by sites with a (much) larger staff. It offers options for "high priority" and "time sensitive" -- but those options are really not valid on TLE. Support tickets on TLE are managed by TeamTLE, and we are volunteers. We do not monitor the tickets daily, much less 24 hours a day! However, we DO manage the support ticket queue, and these days it rarely has more than 10 open tickets at a time, and usually only 3-4 open tickets. As a general practice, TeamTLE reviews the content of the support ticket queue on FRIDAYS. Occasionally private lives intervene and a Friday is missed, and occasionally we can react when we see a ticket come in via our private emails, but the normal schedule is to work with tickets each Friday. If you open a support ticket, you WILL ultimately get a response, and if your ticket is about a missed session, the session WILL ultimately get completed. Many things are dependent on Troy's schedule and state of health, so it may not happen as quickly as you might prefer. However, you can rest assured that behind the scenes TeamTLE is reminding (and bugging and pestering) Troy. So things WILL get done. If you need to report a situation that shouldn't wait until Friday, a support ticket should be opened, but you should also attempt to privately contact Troy or someone on TeamTLE (currently this is @Bobby, @Maureen, @Uma, and myself). For instance, if you are going to miss a scheduled session, it can be rescheduled, but it's very helpful to let Troy know so that he can adjust his schedule. Exception: If something appears to be broken on the TLE site, there is a forum topic just for this purpose: Report Site Issues & Bugs. We prefer to manage site bugs via this forum rather than support tickets because it allows everyone to see when an issue has been reported and what the status is.
  33. 15 points
    I have a very particular reaction to medieval art and architecture, which is that I ways get caught up in thoughts of the individual craftspeople who made them. They guy who carved the gargoyles, the illuminator, etcetera. I start to wonder what their daily inner lives were like. This is because I spend much of my time making art as well. The intimacy of the act in contrast with the public destiny of the work is my daily life. So I am thinking not about the Catholic church, which can burn in the hell I wish existed, but about all the hands that built Notre Dame. I have been there multiple times. Despite my lifelong raging hatred of all organized religion, I love spiritual spaces, and despite my particular antipathy to Christianity (I'm Jewish and very sensitive to proselytizers), I especially love medieval cathedrals. Mainly I'm shocked at the destruction of this icon. Much like the twin towers for NYC and the pyramids for Cairo, the towers and arches of Notre Dame are visible from so many vantage points in Paris. It's hard to grasp.
  34. 15 points
    For those who are in pain and shock, I feel you. I wonder if this serves as a symbol for the collapse of organizational religion...as Michael indicated in one of the earlier energy reports.
  35. 15 points
    Since I'm in TeamTLE and have been involved in behind the scenes discussions and decision making, I feel I need to speak up in this case. It was necessary to say no one had done anything wrong, because no one had broken any obvious rules. It's not a situation where someone was told absolutely not to do something and kept doing it. However, behind the scenes there have been repeated discussions within TeamTLE about how to handle issues that were apparent given that there were no rules to point anyone to. Offsite events today made it clear that it was time to stop kicking the ball down the road and come up with a fair solution. I disagree. I want the community to know that we have had private conversations to try to resolve the known issues without having to establish "rules" because TLE is not a "rules" type of place. However, the community has grown large enough that TeamTLE (all volunteers) cannot adequately monitor posts on the site with any degree of immediacy. We began to see that some posts, when left in place without comment, were potentially cause for confusion among Michael students, particularly newer students. By segregating student-developed content from content primarily from Michael, TeamTLE can more readily make decisions about where and when to step in or to just let the conversations flow. To my knowledge, this is the only Michael site with a wealth of transcripts publicly available that are "pure" Michael (barring the bit of Troy that comes through his channeling), and by that I mean that transcripts on this site do not tend to blend in other spiritual teachings and teachers and ideas in a way that may disguise what came from Michael and what came from another source. This is not to say that other teachers and ideas are bad, but simply that TLE uses and will continue to use Michael as the sole primary source of content. TeamTLE is very much intent on ensuring that what Michael has said through Troy is clear in comparison to how Michael is interpreted by Michael students, and in support of validation of material that comes from other sources and from other channels of Michael. At the same time, Michael doesn't teach solely to lay down their own rules. They intend for their teachings to be applied. So it's entirely useful and necessary to ensure that students can develop and discuss their own interpretations and views of Michael content as well as content from other sources. We want that to happen. We are just trying to ensure that there is some clarity as to sources so that students can interpret Michael vs. others for themselves.
  36. 15 points
    Pretty much the same with me. Got more than I can handle and keep up with right now which is a good thing. It's a welcomed change
  37. 15 points
    Thanks Troy, For so long I viewed healing as somehow getting to a point of stability where I could manifest my desires and live the life I WANTED to live. Healing was always about getting to that place where I could create any world I wanted and have the confidence to back it up. I resented my failures, fuck ups or anything that could remotely be an obstacle towards finally one day creating my ideal world of creativity and being recognized for such creativity. It took me a long time to go “ fuck, this is not about me”. It is true that I can still be creative, navigate, be honest, evolve, cultivate the basic self worth to aim for preferences....but other than that, it is not about me. The world does not owe me open arms of forgiveness. The world does not owe me a comfortable ride. I am part of this world. For so long I have watched these creative humans be called out by the “ left” and be triggered when someone loses a job or is canceled by society for some past behaviour. This triggered me because that idea of “ success” to me was somehow making it BIG. Being seen as someone who created a life they want. Being a respected voice, creative force. That idea of success is dying to me. I was talking to my Friend Robert about how I am always triggered by liberal righteousness because I also invision that same righteousness will be my own undoing in my worst case scenario future. He said to me “ How exciting that all these people are part of this big collective story and healing. That is so much bigger than any title or achievement, to be part of the conversation”. I found that to be so beautiful. I feel far less triggered by the rapid evolution of the world. Forgiving of myself to a point that feels empowering again. No longer at the mercy of worst case scenarios and now eager to be part of the conversation. Eager to be a voice of a life that was messy and a vision of where to go from here. Eager to listen to all the new voices that are being collectively heard for the first time in human history: women voices, gay voices, trans voices, people of colours voices, animal rights voices etc.etc. This is not about ME. Success to me now means being a willing participant in the collective conversation, getting messy with it. Thrown around by it, contributing to it and listening to it. Thanks for the April energy, love love
  38. 14 points
    Yea Troy, glad to hear you have your health care back!!! Makes me appreciate being Canadian, and not having that worry.
  39. 14 points
    Nexus is coming...sounds a lot like Winter is coming as I read it here I was "wish I was dead" down yesterday. I kept remembering Ms words to me about spiraling down, just remembering that it is temporary and that I have lots more good days than bad ones. When I saw the news about Notre Dame I immediately felt sad and sick about it and wondered if picking up on it energetically had something to do with my horrible mood. Then right on back of that thought was the thought that it's a huge symbol of Christian patriarchy so who am I know to know what's best for the world? Earlier this month I made a new foray into online dating and after making phone contact with one person I quickly recoiled and recognize it as such. I feel resentment over any *loss* of my time. I feel I don't have the time and energy to fully participate in my existing relationships, and I'm not willing to put in this time to find a mate that way. I know that if I met someone who really sparked my interest I'd be off to the races with that but I still feel so protective of *my time*. Also I notice that I feel like this to some extent with all my relationships and that's really troubling to me. I tell myself I need my energy to continue the life rebuilding that's been the focus of my life these many years, but how true is it? I don't know. Also I'm looking forward to Kondo-ing my life. After I moved 2 months ago I started feeling like lots of my stuff doesn't really fit me anymore. I know longer desire to be surrounded by things I've loved for decades but don't know what I want there instead. It's a very strange feeling indeed and I hope that this coming Convergence will bring some healed parallels into my life that will clarify my desire and help with new direction. I suppose I should get sorting but I'm also finding that I have less energy that usual for cleaning and sorting. I tend to love cleaning, but lately just wiping the counter feels overwhelming at times.
  40. 14 points
    Thank you, Troy. I have been in a recoil state this week and have not done much beyond what was necessary. I became sick Monday night with another cold and felt pretty miserable. I slept about 14-hours during the night into the next morning and the rest definitely helped. In approximately three days, I was beginning to feel better even though there are still some lingering effects of exhaustion and congestion into today. This was a vastly quicker recovery compared to what I went through in February. On Friday, I experienced a greater level of presence in my moments throughout the day and noticed that this helped boost my energy levels during those moments. It reminded me that there are benefits to being more present in my days and life in general. Looking forward to getting out of a state of retreat and recoil. I am with @DianeHB and @NickG on feeling enthusiastic about possibilities for the future. It seems that there are many exciting possibilities and potentials for our species if we can get past the current hurdles and work on healing collectively. I would like to be a part of the collective change and not isolated.
  41. 14 points
    Same with me, @Bobby and @DianeHB. I got back into my body, exercising etc, and feel good. A little restless, but then I dance with headphones on and can sit down to work again. Expressing myself freely where before I wouldn't have and even got the relationship with my mother working again. I haven't felt this great and whole in years.
  42. 14 points
    A fair point. It is going to happen on community levels. I doubt we will see significant government action on any of these issues for at least 20 years. In the US, we need the ancient fossils of the past to die off. I can see neighborhood deciding collectively to take over the abandon houses in the area and tear them out and put in community gardens. I can see farm plots being bought and converted to multi use solar farms. At biosphere 2 they had an experiment running that grew tomatoes and other annuals under raise solar panels. They discovered that the increased moisture produced by the plants helped to cool the panels and help them to operate 4% more efficiently. Capitalism is breaking. It cannot provide solutions to the problems we are facing, because the problems don't have a profit motive. There is no profit motive to saving insects. The ones that would be saved would be those deemed cute or harmless or not pests. No one is going to advocate for saving misquotes even though several species of bats and birds would starve without them. Therefore, we need to do it through our own actions and collective actions with our neighbors and friends.
  43. 14 points
    I'm reeling after finding out my mother's side of the family has been spreading really disgusting rumors and lies about me. I am so confused and upset and keep vibrating between holding compassionate space for their grief (the four year anniversary of my mother's death was on sunday) and anger/frustration for them mentally and emotionally abusing me like this. The silver lining seems to be that the work I did over the past few months to deal with my grief and release certain polarity changes with my family has worked. I am not nearly as devastated and gutted as I would have been if this had been brought to my attention even a year ago. I have talked to Michael about this particular sect of my family a few times and their advice has always been sound. They called me on processing our issues from my sacral chakra (emotionally) which doesn't work, and advised me to instead radiate light and wisdom from my crown and third eye. I've interpreted this as trying to remove myself from Personality and give Essence room to work and adjust my perspective. It's been immensely helpful. A feel weeks ago I had an amazing breakthrough where I was able to understand that by releasing my mother's family (and she herself) from the burden of having rejected me, I can also release myself from the trauma of having been rejected. By no longer seeing them as these evil people who have victimized me (including my mom), I can then relinquish my identity as a victim. Them not loving me or not being loving towards me is not an inherently negative thing by which I must experience negative emotions to validate. They can not love me and I can still be lovable. Anyway, yeah this week is super rough but I am navigating it as best I can, trying to hold on to my Truths and stay out of the negative poles. Which is so hard with Identification because I want desperately to defend myself and tell people what's going om, evoke Zeal to force people on my side because I'm hurt. It's hard to remain balanced in all of this but I'm trying. Grateful to have this community right now. Thank you all for existing
  44. 13 points
    Hugs brother. Glad you have healthcare in place after what must have been a scary time.
  45. 13 points
    This... from Bloomberg in regards to the Mueller Report: Special Counsel Robert Mueller said he lacked confidence to clear Donald Trump of obstruction of justice but suggested Congress could take action on at least 10 instances where the president sought to interfere with the probe. “We concluded that Congress has authority to prohibit a president’s corrupt use of his authority in order to protect the integrity of the administration of justice," he said in the report sent to Congress on Thursday. Mueller said acts of possible obstruction include “discouragement of cooperation with the government and suggestions of possible future pardons.” The 448-page report cited actions including Trump’s firing of FBI Director James Comey and efforts to have former Attorney General Jeff Sessions take control of the investigation. “Our investigation found multiple acts by the president that were capable of exerting undue influence over law enforcement investigations, including the Russia-interference and obstruction investigations," according to the report. “The president engaged in a series of targeted efforts to control the investigation.” But Mueller’s report raises new questions about whether House Democrats will intensify their investigative efforts -- and perhaps move toward an impeachment inquiry despite earlier statements by leaders to the contrary. Reminded me of this.... April 19th - 22nd -- NEXUS -- CONVERGENCE - A merging of parallels that are in the process of “cleaning up” patterns that have gone awry. This may translate into a need to, literally, clean your own home, address any outstanding issues in relationships, and generally sort through anything that could use some sorting.
  46. 13 points
    LOL @Rosario that is wonderful! I wish more world leaders would kill themselves.
  47. 13 points
    @Heidi Flu can get fucked! I get the shot religiously every year and this year managed to dodge it, but the bug I got last year was so bad that if I hadn't had the vax I think I might have died or wound up in the hospital. My doctor later told me that 2018's flu was, in his words, "A 1918 level of virulence", and I hear this year's is nearly as bad. Rest up, that shit is no joke! I came back here to add to my own bit that in the professional realm, I realized this week that my inner critic has been silenced. I think this actually happened a while ago, but I really notice it now. I no longer question my worth as an artist. I don't second-guess my ideas, I just test them, and if they don't work I jettison them. If I don't know how to draw something, I use a reference and figure it out if I need to. I feel like I have access to realms larger than myself, and an open portal to bring them into my work. In my band, I don't worry if my singing is rough or my lyrics clunky when we're first writing a song. I trust the process. This all feels like something worth sharing with my students, because this is such a common issue. It's funny to discover that I can't relate to it any longer. This is absolutely not the case in my personal relationships.
  48. 13 points
    For me, both this month's and March's energy reports have resonated but in a subdued way. I feel like I'm sort of more in the middle, rather than on an extreme end. I think this is in part because I am spending some time tangling directly with the results of having made some extreme choices over the years - some 20 years ago and some more recently. I'm trying to understand why, and to recover some joy I lost. I definitely felt the recoiling into surveillance last week - I canceled my classes one day and stayed home and though I needed that, it felt weird and bad to distance myself that way. Meanwhile all this good stuff is happening in my life and I'm slightly out of phase with it, like I'm behind a barrier watching it happen. I want to fully experience it! But I'm still kind of distanced. I'm also trying to be ok with losing certain people and situations and times. Hence the subdued feelings. I don't see any of this as bad. It's just where I am now. I'm hoping to shed the emotional weight soon. It's happening very incrementally. Last night I put on an album I had incredibly never listened to before - Codeine's "Frigid Stars". It's bizarre that I never heard it before, and I feel stupid for having skipped it, because they were active right when I was a young scene kid and that kind of music was and is still EXACTLY my frequency, to an almost dangerous degree. And, the other band that their drummer was in at the same time is my favorite American band of all time, Come (in which he was the other guitarist). I listened to the entire thing, alone, at midnight (my partner's out of town), and felt like no time had passed between 20-year-old me and 46-year-old me. I could so easily have been lying in my tiny Cambridge, MA bedroom, crying about my emotionally hot & cold long distance addict boyfriend and feeling obscure shame about everything and nothing. It almost scared me. Then I cried and cried, then I meditated and cried some more. The extreme choice I made in my mid 20's to reject what I'd been before seemed so sad, I felt like I really cheated myself out of years of being true to myself the way I am now, but I felt so much love for my current self too, like, I managed to get those parts back and have the accumulated experience and life I built in the interim, which has also been an authentic one. Just one which I launched into by telling myself that my old friends didn't love me and I didn't love them either. That wasn't true then and though I have issues with these doubts now too, it's not accurate now either. And somehow I'm the person I thought I'd become when I was young, before toxic painting teachers, shitty boyfriends, and my own immaturity knocked me onto a different path. Then I went to sleep and woke up to my child yelling for me to tell me she loves me. Here's that album. Click on this if you like extremely beautiful sad distorted guitars. *While I was crying into the bathroom mirror, the thought I had was "why can't time slow down long enough for me to stay in one place and learn something?" So I guess I'll be contemplating that.
  49. 13 points
    Thank you, Troy, I understand!! I'm happy to say I'm another enthusiastic one these days!! I'm meeting new people, getting new clients and deepening my friendships....things are going on very nice for me :') Two days after our session, one of my clients (who also is a BTS fan) won a ticket to see them in Chicago!!! It's funny because at the same time I had a bad pedicure and a subsequent toenail infection, LOL....bad neck pain and headaches the last 2 weeks , but they solved with antibiotics....morning yoga & massage. My physiotherapist told me I had some hyperlaxity...and I need to strengthen my muscles. I also feel like moving more, and will go to a pilates class next week. Anyway, I hope April is kinder to all of us. Much love dear familiy!!
  50. 13 points
    That's so great, @DianeHB. It makes me happy to see you so up and happy. Thanks for sharing your joy.
×
×
  • Create New...